Ulster draw pairs McGuinness against Harte – RTE.ie

Derry and Donegal have been drawn to meet each other in next year’s Ulster SFC, with respective managers Mickey Harte and Jim McGuinness facing off at the quarter-final stage following the draw on RTÉ Radio’s Saturday Sport.

The Derry board made a surprise announcement in September with the news that the Harte would be succeeding Ciarán Meenagh in the role.

The legendary Tyrone manager spent three seasons with Louth, guiding the county to back-to-back promotions which took them to Division 2, where they finished third last season. He was on board to manage the Wee County again in 2024 before the current provincial champions came calling.

Jim McGuinness made a sensational return to inter-county management after being confirmed as the new Donegal senior football manager in August.

McGuinness, who first managed his county from 2010 to 2014 and guided them to All-Ireland glory in 2012, has been appointed for a three-year term, with the option for a fourth year.

Elsewhere in the Ulster draw, Monaghan were drawn to face Cavan in the preliminary round, with Tyrone facing the winners in the last-eight. One of that trio will face either Derry or Donegal in the semis.

The remaining quarter-finals sees Down at home to Antrim, while Fermanagh will host Armagh.

RTÉ GAA analyst Enda McGinley believes that we could be set for a classic provincial championship in the most northerly province given those big managerial moves in the off-season.

“Mickey Harte v Jim McGuinness, the second coming of Jimmy McGuinness, what’s he going to bring there?

“There’s already the winter training camp planned in Donegal so you know that they’re going to be flying.

“Mickey, what’s he going to do with Derry? [They’re] in Division 1 this year so there’s going to be a big demand there.

“I think the Ulster championship, with the management changes, even Down there with Ciaran Meenagh in the background – that’s a brilliant, brilliant draw.”

In Munster, defending champions Kerry will face either Limerick or Cork in the semis. Last year’s beaten finalists Clare will take on Tipperary or Waterford in the remaining last-four tie.

All-Ireland champions Dublin, seeking a 14th consecutive Leinster title will face either Longford or Meath in the quarter-finals. The latter are guaranteed a place in the Sam Magure after winning this year’s Tailteann Cup.

The other side of the draw sees Kildare take on the winners of Westmeath/Wicklow, while 2023 finalists Louth take on either Carlow/Wexford in their quarter-final tie.

In Connacht, two of the quarter-finals are determined on a rota, and in 2024 Mayo will travel to New York and defending champions Galway are off to Ruislip to take on London. The other quarter-final pits Sligo against Roscommon.

The semi-final pairings sees Roscommon take on the winners of New York/Mayo, while it’s Sligo/Leitrim v London/Galway.

2024 provincial championship draws


Preliminary round
Monaghan v Armagh

Down v Antrim
Fermanagh v Armagh
Derry v Donegal
Tyrone v Monaghan/Cavan

Down/Antrim v Fermanagh/Armagh
Derry/Donegal v Tyrone/Monaghan/Cavan


Tipperary v Waterford
Limerick v Cork

Clare v Tipperary/Waterford
Kerry v Limerick/Cork


Preliminary round
Westmeath v Wicklow
Carlow v Wexford
Longford v Meath

Kildare v Westmeath/Wicklow
Louth v Carlow/Wexford
Dublin v Longford/Meath
Offaly v Laois

Kildare/Westmeath/Wicklow v Louth/Carlow/Wexford
Dublin/Longford/Meath v Offaly/Laois


New York v Mayo
London v Galway
Sligo v Leitrim

New York/Mayo v Roscommon
Sligo/Leitrim v London/Galway

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top